



International Award "Giuseppe Sormani" for works on Antonio Gramsci

Sixth edition

Rules

Fondazione Istituto Piemontese A. Gramsci announces the sixth edition of Sormani Prize dedicated to Antonio Gramsci.

For this edition, priority will be given to studies that bear witness to Gramsci's fortune in the current developments of any discipline or cultural sector.

- 1. there will be two sections: one reserved for published works (monographs or essays, published in journals or included in collective works) by Italian and foreign scholars (in original language) published between July 2020 and June 2024 and one reserved for unpublished works. The essays may concern the poetic, non-fiction, theatrical and cinematographic works of Antonio Gramsci. Particular attention will be paid to the theme School, education and pedagogy.
- 2. Candidates are requested to send one printed copy, if available, and one digital copy of the work (volume or essay, or score, or film) to Fondazione Istituto Piemontese A. Gramsci Secretariat, Via del Carmine, 14, 10122 Turin (Italy), no later than 30 June 2024 with the indication 'Premio Sormani' in the subject line and on the envelope or parcel, as well as the address complete with telephone and e-mail and, separately, a brief curriculum vitae. The same data and the electronic copy have to be sent by e-mail to premiosormani@gramscitorino.it.
- **3.** If the work is in a language other than Italian, French, English, Portuguese, Spanish and German, the applicant is also required to send a translation of the work into one of these languages.
- **4.** The jury may award up to two prizes in each section, one of which to the work of a young newcomer. If there is only one winner, he/she will be entitled to the full amount of EUR 3,000. If there are two winners, EUR 2,000 will be allocated to the debutant in support of publication.
- **5.** The Prize will be awarded during a public ceremony to be organised by the Foundation in Turin by **December 2024**. The expenses for the participation of the sole winner or the two prize-winners will be borne by the Foundation.

Jury composition

Fiamma LUSSANA (Chair), Massimo BALDACCI, Pietro MALTESE, Gert SORENSEN, Chiara META. Secretariat: Francesca CHIAROTTO